Ulaanbaatar /MONTSAME/ In 2012, Mongolia nominated for the 2015 election of the United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) based on the concepts on national security and foreign policy.

In frames of the preparation works of the election, the Minister of Foreign Affairs Mr L.Purevsuren Wednesday organized an event for heads of the diplomatic missions in Mongolia and representatives of international organizations to present to them a reason of the nomination at the election and to take support.

The Foreign Minister emphasized that Mongolia aspires to share its experiences in democracy and market economy with other countries as the country has set the 9th goal of the Millennium Development on cherishing human rights, strengthening democratic governance and staying on zero tolerance for corruption. Mongolia has joined some 30 contracts and conventions on human rights, and has started works of harmonizing the national laws with the international regulations within the legal reforms, he said.

Mr Purevsuren pointed out that the Mongolia’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs is attaching a great importance to the preparation works of the UNHRC election, for example, a working group has been set up under leadership of the Ministry’s State Secretary by an order of the Premier for taking relevant measures.

The UNHRC is a United Nations System inter-governmental body whose 47 member states are responsible for promoting and protecting human rights around the world. Also, the UNHRC is the successor to the UN Commission on Human Rights (UNCHR, herein CHR), and is a subsidiary body of the UN General Assembly.

The council works closely with the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) and engages the United Nations’ special procedures.

In accordance with paragraph 7 of General Assembly resolution 60/251 the Council shall consist of 47 Member States, which shall be elected directly and individually by secret ballot by the majority of the members of the General Assembly. The membership shall be based on equitable geographical distribution, and seats shall be distributed as follows among regional groups: Group of African States (13); Asia-Pacific States (13); Eastern European States (6); Latin American and Caribbean States (8); Western European and other States (7).

The members of the Council shall serve for a period of three years and shall not be eligible for immediate reelection after two consecutive terms. Voluntary pledges that Member States have chosen to provide in support of their respective candidacies, in accordance with paragraph 8 of General Assembly resolution 60/251, are issued as General Assembly documents in all official languages.